Twelve months, four seasons, one perspective

I often cycle through Regent’s Park and noticed a wonderful avenue of trees. Last year I decided to get off my bicycle and take a photo each time I passed by. Due to a lack of traffic, and cleaner air, this route became my preferred route into central London. Although a bit geeky I thought; ‘Well, I’m not exactly going out of my way if I hop off my bicycle, take a photo, hop back on, and cycle off’. A year later I still use the same route and have photographed the same perspective for twelve months. Ok! It’s geeky! What do you want me to do? I like strong perspectives, they attract me! And I especially like strong perspectives that converge to a point in the distance. One reason for taking the photos over a year was to capture the four seasons. I also like the idea of permanence and transience. The trees are permanent, but change in appearance throughout the year. Framed within the strong lines of perspective are people. This is the transient aspect. Different people, groupings, clothes, moods, reasons for being there…

All the photos were taken from the same spot, from roughly the same angle, with my phone.

April

April 2012

May 2012

May 2012

June 2012

June 2012

July 2012

July 2012

August 2012

August 2012

September 2012

September 2012

October 2012

October 2012

November 2012

November 2012

December 2012

December 2012

January 2013

January 2013

February 2013

February 2013

March 2013

March 2013

April 2013

April 2013

Leave a Reply

