Photography knowledge (Part 1)

I started a course at university yesterday and got talking to some of my new colleagues. The conversation turned to photography and each time I mentioned a photographer, I found that they didn’t know who I was talking about.

So, I’m writing this post for them, but if you’re in the same boat and don’t know who Bruce Gilden, Garry Winogrand, Bruce Davidson, Joel Meyerowitz or Mark Cohen are then this is also for you.

I’ve also included a link to a video produced by Tate Modern of Daido Moriyama, which coincided with a major exhibition last year of both his work and the work of William Klein, who’s also worth knowing.

Just a small note: these links relate to the conversation I had yesterday and don’t mean that they’re my favourite photographers, although obviously I like them otherwise they wouldn’t have been mentioned. I brought these photographers up in the context of street photography.

So, these are the photographers I was talking about…

Bruce Gilden

 

Bruce Davidson

 

Garry Winogrand

The image quality of the photos isn’t great but his work is and I recommend taking a look at his photos on a website, or even better in a book.

Joel Meyerowitz

 

http:www.youtube.com/watch?v=DRTf_-ezAes&list=PL78A78685A540D7DC

I’ve included two links to Joel Meyerowitz not because I prefer him more or less than the others, just that there seem to be more videos with him, and he’s interesting!

Mark Cohen

I didn’t mention Mark Cohen, but there’s something about his work that I like, though I’m not sure about his methods. Actually I wouldn’t really advise anyone to copy him as he’s pretty much in your face. Anyway, this film was made in 1982 and people’s attitudes to being photographed on the street has changed, a lot.

This post is pretty much centred on American photographers. There’s nothing in this other than the fact that it came up in conversation yesterday. Though American photographers have contributed a huge amount to the canon of street photography, especially in the 1960s, 70s and 80s.

Hope you enjoy this post.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

